Congratulation Datuk Dr Awang Bulgiba on being appointed as International Science Council Fellows 2023

The Department would like to congratulate Datuk Dr Awang Bulgiba Awang Mahmud on being appointed as International Science Council (ISC) Fellows 2023. Dr Awang Bulgiba is among 100 new ISC Fellows globally who are established scientists and thought-leaders from research and science-policy spheres who have significantly contributed to furthering understanding, use and engagement of science for the global public good. There were four other Malaysian who was awarded the distinguish honour, they are Distinguished Professor Datuk Dr Looi Lai Meng and Professor Dr Ramesh T. Subramaniam from Universiti Malaya, and Professor Datin Paduka Dr Khatijah Yusoff from Universiti Putra Malaysia and Professor Emerita Datuk Dr Asma Ismail from Universiti Malaysia Sabah.

Dr Awang Bulgiba is the first Malaysian doctor to gain a PhD in Health Informatics. He was the Secretary-General of ASM from 2019 to 2023. He led the creation of the National Policy for Science, Technology and Innovation 2021-2030 and chaired the national Independent COVID-19 Vaccination Advisory Committee and the COVID-19 Epidemiological Analysis and Strategies Task Force. As Deputy Vice-Chancellor in two portfolios (Academic and International and Research and Innovation) at Universiti Malaya, he charted strategies, making UM Malaysia’s top research university and the only Malaysian university in the QS Top 100 World University Rankings.

Dr Awang Bulgiba was an alumnus of Universiti Malaya, he completed his Bachelor of Medicine and Bachelor of Surgery (MBBS) in 1988 and Master of Public Health (MPH) in 1996. Dr Awang Bulgiba joined the Department in 1998 and become the Head of Department from 2006-2009.

Oh hi there 👋
It’s nice to meet you.

Sign up to receive an awesome Newsletter in your inbox, every month.

We don’t spam! We only sent out Monthly Newsletter