The Department of Social and Preventive Medicine is one of the 23 academic departments of the Faculty of Medicine, Universiti Malaya. The Universiti Malaya Medical Centre or UMMC (Pusat Perubatan Universiti Malaya or PPUM ) is the teaching hospitals attached to the Faculty of Medicine, University of Malaya.

The Department of Social and Preventive Medicine is organised into three divisions and five disciplines:


  1. Office of the Head of Department (HOD)
  2. Academic and Internationalisation
    • Undergraduates
    • Postgraduates
    • Internationalisation
  3. Research and Professional Services
    • Clinical
    • Professional Training
    • Consultation
    • Research


  1. Health Policy & Management (HPM)
  2. Epidemiology (EPID)
  3. Biostatistics (STAT)
  4. Family Health and Social & Behavioural Science (FH)
  5. Occupational & Environmental Health (OEH)
  6. Nutrition & Diet

The Department also houses two research centres,

These centres consisted of the Head of Centre with a number of administrative and research staff.

Public Health Department, UMMC

The staff of the department also contribute to the services in the UMMC through the Public Health Department. The Public Health Department is Headed by the Head of the SPM Department. It is divided into Secretariat and Clinical Services, which is further divided into Public Health Services and Occupational Safety Health and Environmental (OSHE) services, and also runs the Occupational Health Clinic.


  • Occupational Safety and Health and Disaster Committee
  • OSHE Risk Working Committee
  • Healthcare Workers Tuberculosis Committee
  • Needle-stick Injuty Committee
  • Disaster Committee
  • Fungal Taskforce

Public Health Services

  • Surveillance
  • Community Services
  • Non-communicable Disease Control
  • Communicable Disease Control
  • Food Safety and Quality
  • Health Promotion

OSHE Services

  • Occupational Health
  • Occupational Safety
  • Environmental Health
  • Fire Safety